Even If You Suck….Just Do It

I’ve never  been the smallest girl in the room. For years there was nothing that I could do about that. I started taking prednisone when I was 9 for my medical condition and jumping from 10 mg to 60 could make me gain 15 pounds in 2 weeks. It also made me unusually hungry and I ate way too often.

 In my early 20’s my exercise routine consisted of 2 days a week in the gym and 2 days on somebodys dancefloor.  I never went out to be seen. I went out to literally sweat my perm out. I always left sweaty, Happy, and with stronger legs.

Around the age of 25 my metabolism slowed down, and so did going out and going to the gym and the pounds slowly added.  When I got sick in 2011 I lost 30 pounds but with the concurrent knee injury I gained it all back, plus some.

There are things I have always wanted to do, and I feel like my body has hindered me from those things. Things that I thought I would never be capable of, and simply, I am tired of it. When I realized it wasn’t about getting to a certain size or being a certain weight. I started looking for the best things for my body. To be the healthiest version of myself.

I found Paleo, and something finally just simply made sense.

Eat the Stuff we were made to eat. Which for me means. Eat the Stuff God made us to eat. And then it clicked. It simply made good doggone sense!

I had been dealing with stomach upset almost every time I ate. My afternoon cup of coffee was not a treat but a necessity full of sugar.  I even turned my favorite treat into feeding this habit.  I started FEELING like an addict to processed foods.  Every small thing I ate I was choosing for the next immediate pick me up instead of looking at the whole picture.  

 

My cousin (who is also a doctor) saw me post on Facebook about Paleo and sent me a Whole 30 approved E- Cookbook.  That’s how I found Whole 30 and I knew as scary as it sounded and hard in my head as it seemed I had to do this, and complete it.

So last month I decided 2 things.

  1. Complete Whole 30 and Post about it the whole dern time
  2. Start training to run a Marathon. (Well a 10K but close enough!…experienced runners don’t kill me…)

Sooooooo anyone who knows me knows my motto has always been I will run to save my life. After my knee injury I totally ruled even that out. If the Zombie Apocalypse came. I would just lay down and surrender. However, my ortho thinks I can, and hell if he thinks I can. I KNOW I can.  I finally got professionally fitted for running shoes today, and seriously considering joining a running group. My life has already shown to be greater than I could have expected this year. Simply because I believe I can. 

 

Signing Out

Deanna Amarica

About lifelovenrandomness

My Journey, and the Multiple Random things that make up my life. Enjoy
This entry was posted in Fight the Fluff Campaign/Whole 30 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

