How to Be a Great Social Non-Drinker

Hey Everyone! Thought I would introduce you to my friend Dara! An amazing writer and a witty blogger. I really enjoyed this post of hers and thought it would be a great add to LifeLoveNRandomness. Check her out at Reckless Acts of Punctuation!

dara t. mathis

The first (and last) time I went out for drinks with co-workers was a disaster. I have been a teetotaler most of my life. Social environments intimidated me somewhat, but I felt honored that they had invited me out to shoot the breeze and toss back a few.

My co-worker Kim gallantly offered to buy me a martini; scrutinizing the menu, I chose a pretty aquamarine one that looked like my favorite flavor of Powerade. As it turns out, I hated the main ingredient of martinis (vodka), which tasted like organic dirt. I was embarrassed, stuck nursing the drink and trying not to let my face reveal that I didn’t like it. I ended up passing it off surreptitiously to another friend, who promptly gulped it down like a pro.

Since then, I have picked up a few nuggets that help me navigate social environments without alcohol when I choose…

View original post 520 more words

About lifelovenrandomness

My Journey, and the Multiple Random things that make up my life. Enjoy
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

