Put It On EVERYTHING

A few nights ago I had a random taste for a southwestern type salsa. In true Deanna form I am going to want it until I get it. So I head on down to Publix and grab a bunch of stuff that I felt would be southwesterny. I hit the jackpot. I came up with a simple salsa recipe that I am sure will be a new staple in my fridge.  I have a few things that I might tweak with it over time but I thought I would go ahead and share

Deanna’s Put It on Everything Salsa

**Disclaimer** In my head I really wanted a fire roasted corn slow roasted on a grill, but we aint got time fa that!  So I pan grilled a can of drained corn in one of my specialty olive oils from VSOP taproom, and a tiny bit of course sea salt. When the corn was nice and hot and poppin I dumped it in a bowl

Photo Jul 19, 6 01 35 PM      Photo Jul 19, 6 03 42 PM

I then Drained and rinsed a can of black beans and added it to the bowl

Photo Jul 19, 6 12 21 PM

½ a red onion diced up and dumped into the bowl

Photo Jul 19, 6 16 40 PM

1 whole red tomato diced and added to the bowl

Then Awesome of all Awesomeness happened, Cilantro in a tube. Yup a Tube. I love fresh herbs and I wish I could cultivate a nice herb garden but in my apartments there’s just not enough sun for that. So I hate buying them because I usually use it for the one meal and then its toast. I found this cilantro in the herb section of Publix and thought I would give it a try. I think I need to go back and buy all of them.

Photo Jul 19, 7 24 55 PM

Then I added salt, black pepper and chili powder, and lime juice to taste.

Happiness in a Bowl. I made it for an fresh alternative to basic salsa to eat with chips, But it went great yesterday with some pan grilled salmon and a quoina/brown rice blend.

I think I will have to keep this as a staple in my fridge.

Photo Jul 19, 7 30 20 PM

If you decide to try it please let me know what you think?!

About lifelovenrandomness

My Journey, and the Multiple Random things that make up my life. Enjoy
This entry was posted in 30 of 30, Yum Yum Corner and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Put It On EVERYTHING

  1. dtafakari says:

    I want to marry black beans and have little beanie babies… (wait…did I already do that??)

Leave a Reply

